Notes from the Black Lagoon

What I’m reading

Posted on: August 8, 2008

Most of you know that librarians (unfortunately) do not simply sit around and read while we’re working at the library. That would pretty much make it the best job ever, but I don’t think our patrons would be too happy with us! Anyway, like most librarians, I do LOVE to read and try do so as much as possible. Here’s what I’ve been up to:

1. The Search for Delicious by Natalie Babbit

This book is on the reading listsfor the schools around here, so I thought I would read this to be in solidarity with all the kids who are groaning and moaning about doing their summer reading. Initially, I was intrigued by Babbit’s exploration of the question “What is delicious?” in this new fairy-tale. Being pretty enamored of food myself, I naturally replied “Mac and cheese with ketchup”. But then I thought “Well, maybe pizza”. As the Prime Minister sets out to define every word in the kingdom for his dictionary, more and more people disagree about Delicious, from the king down to the peasants. Young Gaylen, the PM’s trusty apprentice and adopted son, is immediately dispatched to register everyone’s delicious idea of the perfect food. Soon, tensions mount and different factions (“Plum cake!! No! Pork Chops!”) are on the brink of war. Along his journey, Gaylen encounters some very odd characters and learns just how the world really works. Sounds good, right???!! Well, let me just say, the ending was super-disappointing. I won’t spoil it, but everyone does come to an agreement about just what is really delicious. And boy, is it boring. A really, really good read until the last couple of chapters.

2. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (vol 1)

As Miss Daisy (and Mr. Holmes) would say , “The game is afoot!”. Seriously, Conan Doyle’s game is totally “afoot” in this first volume of the complete Sherlock Holmes collection. Being a huge mystery fan, I shamefully admit that I had never really read the origin of modern detective fiction until I started this a few weeks ago. After seeing this gigantic paperback on the shelf, I prepared myself for drudgery. NO! Conan Doyle’s writing is fast-paced, exciting, and often hilarious.  I have actually laughed out loud at parts of ” A Study in Scarlet”, first short story that introduces us to Watson and Holmes.  Good stuff.  Also this particular edition on the right has a great introduction about Watson’s role as Holmes’s faithful sidekick.  Good stuff!!

So, that’s it!  Have a great weekend and keep on reading!

Leave a Reply

